iAR is a tax-exempted association located at University of Lausanne. It is headed by Prof. Cem Gabay and consists presently of the three independent research institutes:

  • Cem Gabay, Professor at Hopitaux Universitaires de Genève, Head Division of Rheumatology
  • Nicolas Fasel Professor at University of Lausanne, Director Department Biochemistry Faculty of Biology and Medicine
  • Steffen Gay Professor at University Hospital Zurich, Head of Center of Experimental Rheumatology

From 2009 - 2015 als Antonio Lanzavecchia Professor at Institute for Research in Biomedicine Bellinzona and Professor for Human Immunology at ETH Zurich was an active partner of iAR.

Each research groups has its own laboratory spaces, researchers, and administrative personnel provided by their institutions or additional grants. The research groups are independent but committed to collaborate on common projects to achieve iAR objectives.


*Depending on final regulations iAR board is also open for participation of major donors

The Junior research group is led by Monique Gannagé, Assistant Professor at the Department of Pathology and Immunology at the University of Geneva. Her position is funded by iAR.

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) of the iAR consists currently of two well-known scientists. Depending on the further development the scientific advisory board is supplemented by industry members and members from participating universities.

files/Home/About iAR/Ecosystem/marc-feldmann.png

Prof. Sir Marc Feldmann

University of Oxford
Kennedy Institute
of Rheumatology


files/Home/About iAR/Ecosystem/lars-klareskog.png

Prof. Lars Klareskog

Clinic & Research
Unit Karolinska Institute



Fundraising is led by Judith Safford, Dr. rer. pol., who brings many years of non-profit management and fundraising experience to iAR.    

files/Home/About iAR/Ecosystem/marc-feldmann.png
Dr. Judith Safford

c/o Lienhard AG
Bleicherweg 45
8002 Zürich
Phone: 078 635 27 28